Saturday night in the woods...(pic heavy)

SimonM

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 7, 2007
East Lancashire
www.wood-sage.co.uk
As I posted last week, SWMBO let me play out on Saturday and so I went to my playground just outside Burnley.
I have permission to use a 50 hectare plot of mixed open moorland and recently planted (15 years ago) woodland.

I set up camp in the standing of trees to the right of the picture at the top of the rise...
DSCN3028.jpg

The wind was howling down the valley, so I decided to rig my tarp like a tent.
I have never used this set up before, but will definately do so again...who knows, I might even talk SWMBO into joining me!
DSCN2980.jpg

And inside, showing the tarp that a Hawaiian bushcrafter kindly sent me, used as a groundsheet...
DSCN2973.jpg

Now you might be surprised to hear that I am a bit of a kit freak, so this time out I was using my new Honey Stove...(seen from inside the tarp)
DSCN2990.jpg

I was woke up in the wee small hours by a couple of owls calling to each other, and then a fox barking. It was about 0100hrs and a very clear night.
The wind had dropped and the Moon was like a spotlight...
DSCN2999.jpg

The same view, just after Sun up...
DSCN3003.jpg

As I packed up, I decided to rig up my Hawaii tarp as a flying V, just to see how much it stood out in the English countryside...
DSCN3014.jpg

and seen through the trees...
DSCN3015.jpg

I was surprised, as I expected it to stand out more!

SWMBO & Mini-SWMBO picked me up around 0930hrs and took me to McDonalds for breakfast.
Not my idea of good food, but at least no-one sat near us.
(Apparently I looked like I had slept under a bush and "stank" of woodsmoke!)

Simon

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Cheers for sharing Simon, looks like a cosy spot you've found there

I haven't been out for a couple of weeks and I'm starting to get twitchy feet after looking at those pics

EDIT:

How did the new stove perform ?