rucksack advise karrimor sabre 45 or predator patrol 45

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Hi Bushcraftuk i am new to bushcraft and wild camping.
I am wanting to camp out with a bivi bag and tarp.
And want to get out as much as possible say 3 -4 days at a time.
Would a karrimor sabre 45 or predator patrol 45 be big enough
For my needs i also plan on walking a good bit on my days out
Also i am interested were i can go and try these packs out
To see if they fit right for me thanks in advance...

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
I'd go bigger for 3 to 4 days. It's really dependant on what and how you eat, whether you need to carry water, what you're using to cook on, and most importantly, how far you're walking.

I'm by no means at the end of my bag buying, but the Lowe Alpine Sting just does all I need. From hauling out of the back of the car fully packed with the side pockets (70ltr) , to humping gear to site without (50ltr).

Do a search here, you'll find good reviews. They're getting hard to find now, and I had to settle for DPM. It's the new black don't you know :cool:

My first look here:

http://www.britishblades.com/forums...-Sting-50-70ltr-rucksack-Quick-look-plus-pics

For your needs, maybe look to go over 45ltrs, you don't have to pack tight.

Last edited:

IC_Rafe

Forager
Feb 15, 2016
EU
Both will be fine, aslong as you don't go the bulky army surplus route. Especially with the side pouches. I'd advise against the Predator 45 because the hip belt on that is just basically non existent. You want to carry your weight on your hips and not on your shoulders for comfort and to avoid back issues.

Nov 29, 2004
Scotland
This thread from last week will answer most of your questions on these packs.