Recommend me an Axe?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Home Guard

Forager
Dec 13, 2010
North Walsham, Nelson's County.
I've been bushcrafting for nearly two years without even touching an axe. This has limited me to finding small pieces of wood which are easily snapped to fuel my fire. This has severely limited the things I can craft, etc.

I'd like to start being able to cut and split wood for the fire and to make things like breadboards and other larger items.

Could someone recommend me an Axe, I'm not too worried about it's size, but I'd prefer something that isnt too large, but will still cater for my needs when I move on to larger projects.

I've heard that the GB small forest axe is pretty good, has anyone used these and what are your thoughts?

As for sharpening, will the GB ceramic stone be ok, I hear that this can also be used for sharpening knives, therefore killing two birds with one (sharpening) stone. :D

Last edited:

demographic

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 15, 2005
-------------
Husqvarna are worth a look at as well, often considerably cheaper than Gransfors and as far as I've seen just as good quality.

Personally although I do have a big splitting maul and a small Husqvarna hatchet I don't own any woodland so they just get used at home for kindling.
I don't feel that its really my place to go hacking trees down on land I don't own.

In fact the hatchet, although a lovely bit of kit hardly gets used at all cos I split kindling with the maul, holding it right up by the head.

richardww

Banned
Jan 17, 2012
Gwynedd
the GB small forest is really good, wouldent think you would need any thing bigger for buse craft in the uk, the GB wildlife axe is also really good, most people have one or the other or both,