Recommend me a sewing machine

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
I'd like to start making some of my own bits and pieces like tarps, hammocks & bags etc.

Can someone give a total newbie some good advice on what to look for. I'm planning to use various hi-tech nylons as well as thicker canvas pieces so I could do with something with a bit of grunt behind it.

No idea where to look and what to look for.

I know the name but would something on this budget be up to much ?
http://direct.tesco.com/q/R.206-1559.aspx

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
You say you're looking for something with a bit of grunt behind it and I doubt that particular model would be up to what you're after Rich.

Have a look in your local papers or google for a sewing machine repair shop near to you. They usually have some machines going second hand and can give you some good advice with regards what's good with various materials.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
You say you're looking for something with a bit of grunt behind it and I doubt that particular model would be up to what you're after Rich.

Have a look in your local papers or google for a sewing machine repair shop near to you. They usually have some machines going second hand and can give you some good advice with regards what's good with various materials.

I picked up an old Acadex (sp) from a car boot sale in the summer, got it home and plugged it in and filled the kitchen with a puff of smoke. I got the feeling it hadn't been used for about 40 years :rolleyes:

Good advice on the repair shops though Steve, I'll dig out the phone book in the morning.

Matt.S

Native
Mar 26, 2008
Exeter, Devon
This one's on my doorstep but it looks like it belongs in a museum.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Singer-Sewing...Collect_SewingMachines_RL?hash=item20aea84653