prusik knots v's guy tensioners

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

knowledge=gain

Sent off- not allowed to play
Jun 25, 2022
england
i have seen and read different on the use of prusik-knots to eliminate guy tensioners

i have zero experience of prusik-knots for any application

guy tensioners have been around since long before i was a wee apple in my daddy's eye for tents

as have prusik-knots been around for a very long time

have you got experience for both prusik-knots and guy tensioners for tensioning guys on tent and tarps...??

which is better overall...??

are there different situations for use for one over the other...??

i see that if a guy tensioner breaks the prusik can likely help until a replacement tensioner can be located, would that be correct or a i way off the mark...??

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire

then there is the Farrimond friction hitch

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
From St Paul :) - I couldn't explain it any better.

He ties just two wraps around the static line; I often use three.

And I tend to use four or five. It depends on the type of cord used. Looks like Paul is using an eight strand plait cord, which is grippier than raw 2mm 16-plait Marlow throw line I like.

There are many kinds of guy line tensioning hardware. After many years of using the quick release guy line knots exclusively, I have made several tarps with Lineloc 3 plastic tensioners. Not to confused with Linelok tensioners.