Patrick Harding Fungi Course, Galvelmore House, Crieff, Scotland

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Nonsuch

Life Member
Sep 19, 2008
Scotland, looking at mountains
I have just finished a three-day fungi course taught by Patrick Harding, the fungi veteran who wrote the Collins guide to edible fungi and, of course, the excellent Collins Gem. The course was based at a B&B in Crieff (Galvelmore House no connection) and used the local woodlands as foraging locations.

I had done a day or so on fungi before, on the Woodsmoke Autumn Harvester course, so was not a complete beginner, although I still felt pretty nervous about eating fungi I had found.

The course began on Friday evening with an introductory slide show, then proceeded through Saturday, Sunday and Monday morning with a foraging expedition, a back-at-base sorting exercise, a mushroom-orientated dinner cooked by our hosts (excellent), and then an evening slide-show and talk from Patrick.

Patrick's approach works really well compared to what I had done before. Rather than just teaching a few edibles and nasties, he goes back to first principles and, using a simple classification he has devised based on spore colour and gill shape, enables you to slot almost any fungus you find into one of about 20 families. You therefore come away with an ability to identify almost anything, rather than just recognising a few edibles and then saying "I don't know what that is" to 90% of what you see. It's a bit more academic in style, but pays dividends over the three days as you start to say - Bolete, wax-cap, brittle-gill, funnel-cap, Cortinarius, fibre-cap etc with increasing confidence. In total we identified 126 different species, all on or near popular local strolls, where I would have said beforehand that there were no fungi!