Passed Over At Work

Wook

Settler
Jun 24, 2012
Angus, Scotland
I recently applied for a better job with my employer. I'm currently working on a funded project which ends this month, so after July I'll basically be unemployed. You can imagine how delighted I was when a job opening came up. The job is basically more of what I have been doing for the last 3 years. The job title is what is currently written on my office door.

I've been with my current employer for around 9 years, and in my current role for 3. Before this job was even announced publicly, the person responsible for hiring came to my office and told me what date the application would go live, and asked me to apply. They even asked me when I could start. You know how sometimes you hear about internal candidates being "pre-selected" for a post? Maybe I was being naive, but that was what I thought this person was trying to convey to me by saying these things. This belief was further reinforced when I saw that the job was receiving only a bare minimum of advertising. None of the usual job websites, just the in-house website only. I believed they were sandbagging it for me. To my annoyance someone not connected with the application decided to be "helpful" by posting the job to a mailing list I subscribe to. Even so I wasn't too worried. Everyone says I am good at my job, and I was sure that I could win even in a "fair" fight.

You can imagine my surprise when two days after the interviews (which I'm told I did excellent at) the same person who originally asked me to apply emailed me to say they were really sorry, but the job had gone to one of the external candidates that had responded to the advert. I was gutted. They said this person had more experience.

We'll survive, but we'll probably have to uproot the family from the area (which has been our home for 10 years) and go where the work is.