Outdoor business

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Cephas

Jul 9, 2007
Chaves, Portugal
I am sorry if i am not allowed to post this here, or if i am posting it in the wrong place. If so, please let me know and if needed erase this post.

I have, for same time now, been contemplating earning my living doing what i love: being outdoors. So, i am thinking about having an outdoors business in my country.

My question is: any suggestions or advices for someone starting a nature related business?

Thank you.

ged

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
... any suggestions or advices for someone starting a nature related business?

My advice would be the same no matter what sort of business you plan to start.

I've been running businesses for about 40 years.
I'm sorry to have to tell you that no matter what business you get into, the really difficult part is keeping up with all the administration.
I suspect that in Portugal it will be even worse than it is in England.

Most startup businesses fail.
They do not fail because the people involved are not enthusiastic about their line of work.
They fail, mostly, because the people involved do not understand business and/or do not spend enough time on business administration. Things like making a business plan; cash flow planning; advertising; insurance; pensions; paying the bills and getting paid on time -- or getting paid at all.

You probably know what you need to know about the outdoors in order to run this business, but do you know anything about business?
If you do not, then before you start a business, learn all you can about running a business.

Willcurrie

Aug 2, 2015
Argyll
100% agree with Ged.