OT: Big Cat Sightings

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dennis Mapletoft

Tenderfoot
Oct 23, 2005
MELTON MOWBRAY / Leics
Dear Mr Strop,
I live near Rutland Water, and here we have sightings weekly, before my accident i was a Security officer on a local airfield, it had all the hall marks of a perfect big-cat area, but in nearly 3 years of nights i didn't see so much as a tail, i would realy like to sight one of these beasties, around here alsorts of reputable people have had sighting, police men, post men, milk men, a local female school teacher even a local Magestrate, but sadly not I, we even have a local phone number hot line (got it on me mobile)..if you want the number PM me.. yours Den

lignum vitae

May 5, 2005
kernow
Good friend of mine was out on Bodmin about 2 years back- roughly 2 miles north of the A30 on Westmoor (which is actually E of Rough Tor and Brown Willy, the moor's highest peaks). It was about 1 am and foggy (he was sober too!). Whilst stopped for a nav faff he saw it move through the edge of the fog which was goldfish bowling around him. It saw him but continued on, he described it as 2-3' high to the shoulder at a range of less than 10m. He's an extremely level headed bloke and didn't mention this for over 6 months thinking we'd be incredulous. True story.

Razorstrop

Nomad
Oct 1, 2005
North West
I just started this thread as it caught my interest, and us bushcrafters are probably the right people to come across one of those things.

I imagine there a quite a few more stories of coming across wild cats that alledgedly don't exist in this country. There must be a tracker or two out there who things they have trailed one ??

Lets see who knows what

Big cat fan
Mr Strop

Dennis Mapletoft

Tenderfoot
Oct 23, 2005
MELTON MOWBRAY / Leics