Opinions on which Bench stone to use with BK-7

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Dec 5, 2013
England
Hi all,

I just got myself a brand new Ka-Bar BK-7, and i must admit that i am a complete novice when it comes to sharpening knives of that size.

http://www.kabar.com/knives/detail/3

It's 1095 Cro Van steel and so of course i do not want to ruin the blade.

I have done my research on various knife sharpeners, and the techniques that go along with them, and i have reached the conclusion that the diamond bench stones are the easiest and best to use (please feel to offer other opinions if you disagree ;) )

I have boiled the various bench stones down to two manufacturers, namely DMT :http://www.dmtsharp.com/

and Lansky's :http://lansky.com/

DMT products are much more expensive though :(.

Anyway, that having been said, i'd like to get some feedback on:

1) which product you feel (and possibly know from first hand experience) is the better of the two.

2) what grit combinations should i get (i plan on purchasing the dual sided stone)

3) which one would be more suitable for a beginner.

I read the post on knife sharpening for beginners on the forum, but i don't really want to get into whetstones (again please feel free to intercede here if you so desire).

I realise that a good diamond sharpener may cost a bit, but if i can cut down the costs that would be great.

Thanks for any replies in advance.

Shovel

Forager
Jul 12, 2012
Wherever I choose to live.
You might want to try sandpaper. It's a hell of a lot cheaper and works very well. As for grits, I've seen people get to shaving sharp with 80 grit sandpaper and a good strop.

Dec 5, 2013
England
Firstly, thank you for all your replies-much appreciated.