old machete to new knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Sep 25, 2004
Devon
a few months ago my machete was broken by a freind of mine - i wont be lending him anything again!!! the machete was a good one and i was wondering if i could make it into a good knife. i have no experience of knifemaking so could you tell me how i would go about doing this. can i just cut the metal to shape and grind?? thanks

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
Get yourself over to British Blades, a lot of the folk on here are over there aswell, so you are still among friends, and you'll make loads over there aswell. There are an unbelievable amount of talented guys and gals there who will give you advice, or maybe even do the job for you. Give it a try.

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Josh,
I've just made a knife out of an old metal file, following the advice on www.greenpete.co.uk . I just used a grinding machine and a linisher. I didn't have the means to heat treat either, so my knife will be somewhat brittle until I can remedy the situation
If you have a piece of the original that is long enough for a knife, then give it a try. It'll be difficult to saw, but should grind OK - just try to keep it cool so you dont upset the temper of the blade!

Next for me will be a sheath.

ATB

Ogri the trog

Sep 25, 2004
Devon
thanks. im going to go on british blades, and greenpete has been very useful. il let you no how i get on!!!!!1

Wayland

Hárbarðr
Sawing the blade can be done with a tungsten carbide rod saw blade in a hacksaw frame. These can be purchaced for cutting tiles and will go through just about anything without having to aneal the metal.

This means you will not need to re-heat treat it providing you keep it cool while you are grinding.

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire