newbie rucksack

Oct 1, 2014
skipton
Ive had a search but still im inable to find exactly what im after, im new to bushcraft and am just in the process of getting some gear together. Funds arent huge as im funding my way through college and ive just booked a nice holiday in mexico. My question is, im after a rucksack of some sort preferably something around 40 litres ish for around 40 or 50 quid? Seen the dd bergen, alsohighlander 44 and the the mil tec tactical bags in amazon any thoughts? Thanks.

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
If I were in your situation I'd be looking at a surplus Lowe Alpine Strike, a very good and comfortable 40L pack that'll take PLCE pockets if you need it to. You'll get an ex Dutch army one for your budget or less :)

Monspoonmaker

Mar 15, 2014
Silures
+1 for a Dutch Army Lowe Alpine Sting. Outstanding adjustable pack that should last for years. They come up on e bay or I believe Surplus and Outdoors and Endicotts have them within your budget.

woof

Apr 12, 2008
lincolnshire
The highlanders are very well made, a good price, & available in lots of places so you can see before you buy. They don't fetch much second hand, so ebay would be a good source for them.

Rob

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
I have no idea what you'll find in Mexico, but I would wait and have a look around while there.

You might find something nice at a bargain price. The worst case scenario is that you find nothing worthwhile and buy when you get back home.

Nov 29, 2004
Scotland
"...and ive just booked a nice holiday in mexico....im after a rucksack of some sort preferably something around 40 litres ish for around 40 or 50 quid? Seen the dd bergen, alsohighlander 44 and the the mil tec tactical bags..."