Newbie Query - Carving in oak???

HOUGHTON PIG

Oct 1, 2008
West Sussex
This is my first post. I’m new to Bushcraft, at least in as much as I have only started taking the art more seriously over the past few months. I have always loved and been truly at home in the woods. Bushcraft to me is a little like returning to my childhood as an adult, i.e. making camps, knives, fire and generally spending time amongst the trees and sticks. If there is one thing jasper (my dog) and I cant do without its sticks.

I recently acquired a Gransfors axe to go with my Frosts Mora. I started carving spoons. My god is it addictive, I completed one spoon with the exception of the bowl and immediately ordered a crook knife. I am still waiting for the knife and am in the middle of my fifth spoon.

I wondered if anyone else has had problems carving in oak. I’ve made two spoons in oak only to discover that they have split over night. I have also found that the oak leaves a strange dark stain on both the knife and the axe. The spoons made out of birch are fine with no signs of splitting. If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Nick

( i think i've waffled on a bit here, sorry )

Joe

Need to contact Admin...
Hi Nick,