New yew bow finally finished

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Hey all,

I have been swearing and spitting sawdust for the past 3 months trying to finish this yew bow For starters the branch looked like a twiglet and there were more knots in it than my tarp guys..
The stave was from a branch around 3.5 inch diameter and with all the problems i was lucky to get one bow from it. In the past building a bow from better wood has not taken more than a few weeks but this one with its twists and turns had to be heat straightened 15+ times and all the knots worked down with files. I use only manual tools for two reasons, 1 i dont have any power tools and 2, they scare me to death so this was made using files, spoke shave, draw knife and hatchet. The branch had a lot of reflex which eased out over the roughing out process and it now has about 1.5 inch of set which i am happy with The brace height is about 5 3/4 inch, 67 3/4 ntn and pulling around 50lbs ish. The tiller isnt perfect but it seems to shoot well and the set has been taken evenly with no obviously chrysals

Yew is a lovely bow wood and one day i will save up for a straighter bit and try again. I have only put 30 or arrows through it but it hits like train and the draw is nice and smooth, it has a little hand shock due to bending through the handle but nothing to worry about. Who knows how long she will last but time will tell.

Branch debarked,
IMAG0054.jpg

IMAG0048.jpg

More roughing out with hatchet
IMAG0038.jpg

Braced
upright3.jpg

side1.jpg

Full draw
draw3.jpg

draw2.jpg

If anyone fancies giving bow making a go i am no expert but i can offer starter advice, tools are few and cheap..

Cheers for looking

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire