New to all this need advise

Iknow Nowt

Banned
Oct 11, 2005
Lancs
Hello Everyone

This is my first thread and I'm probably going to post it in the wrong place :confused: But here go's.

First of all I'd like to say I have been looking at this site for a few weeks now and think it's excellent.

Secondly I am really interested in the whole Bushcraft thing but I have no experience whatsoever. Hopefully I will learn a lot from everyone here.
So here we go the first of many questions:

What kit without breaking the bank should I be getting?
(Basically what, where from how much!)

cgait

Jan 23, 2005
Cwmaman, South Wales
I'm still using basic kit myself. But i cant find much wrong with what i use though ;) .
I use a frost mora http://www.bushwear.co.uk/ProductDetails.aspx?product_id=250.

A simple basha not quite sure what make or the sizes. Sorry i cant find a link for this. Try ebay they have loads on there.

A british army mess kit http://www.exarmy.co.uk/shop/product.php?xProd=142.

And a swedish army firesteel http://www.surplusandadventure.com/ishop/800/shopscr1559.html.

That tends to cover me for everything.

Fire
Shelter
Food
Water

P.S. I doubt these are the best prices but its a start. Bushwear also do a cheaper knife made for them. Its been discussed already
http://www.bushcraftuk.com/community/showthread.php?t=8511

happy camper

Nomad
May 28, 2005
Scotland
hello :)
welcome to the forum, there's loads of info. and everyone's really helpful.
Your question's a bit like asking how long is a piece of string..it depends entirely on what you fancy trying.It might be worth you breaking it down into your basic needs when out and about.