My new (to me) allotment (with pictures)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dannytsg

Native
Oct 18, 2008
England
So after over a year and a half of waiting, numerous different contacts of different allotment societies and council phone calls, I have finally secured an allotment for my wife and I to start trying to be more green and self sustainable with food. Being perfectly honest I am relatively new to the whole allotment thing, however we have been growing small items at home such as potatoes and strawberries and we now feel it's the right time to really get stuck in.

The allotment itself is about 10 minutes from our home and the site is run by an allotment society which isn't controlled by the council (however I do believe the council still have powers under some allotments act to enforce the use of said land). The allotment itself was a vacant possession as the previous owner hadn't done anything with it at all for months and despite numerous warnings finally gave the plot up and we got it. I came to a deal with the previous owner to buy everything on the allotment (that doesn't include the land) for £30 and I think I go a bargain as he just wanted rid.

The allotment comes with:
  • 2 greenhouses
  • 1 summerhouse (with sink and calor gas heating)
  • 2 polytunnels
  • hose water supply
  • 2 compost bins
  • fire bin
  • raised beds already on site
  • plenty of overgrown plants

The plan

First item on the agenda is to remove any rubbish that we don't need and take it to the tip. Then we are going to remove all the old plants, weeds and dead foliage, turn the beds over and make some running repairs to the poly tunnels and summerhouse ready for growing

I have taken some photos of it as it is now and will hopefully be able to update as time goes on to show what progress we make.

Attachments