My first (very small) bowl

humdrum_hostage

Jul 19, 2014
Stradishall, Suffolk
This is my first attempt at bowl carving. So far about 8 hours work. My hands are sore and one of my first fingers looks like a self harm victim!

I am yet to buy a bigger crook knife so I am struggling to gouge deep as I only have a shallow flexcut curved knife.

Question.... I have whittled this 100%, should I have taken the bulk down first with an axe or should I have just used a larger knife?

The beginning

My tools of choice

A cracked apeared where the wood had a bit of spalting!

Nearly there!

Last edited:

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
That's a sweet little bowl. I like it. Are you going to oil it or leave it plain? Despite it's size, must've been a concentrated 8 hours going using just a knife. Good work.

humdrum_hostage

Jul 19, 2014
Stradishall, Suffolk
That's a sweet little bowl. I like it. Are you going to oil it or leave it plain? Despite it's size, must've been a concentrated 8 hours going using just a knife. Good work.

It was late at night in front of the TV once the little ankle biter was in bed over the last week.

I have got some walnut oil as advised by a few people. I probably wouldn't use it much as it's got a crack but I thought It would be good practice to carry on.

Can I use the oil cold? Some people said to heat it first?

Hammock Hamster

Feb 17, 2012
Kent
Very nice, I wish my first attempt had turned out anywhere near as good. I would probably have used an axe to rough out some of it but would really depend on your axe skills and how much you like your fingers.
Walnut oil will work great and you can heat it or leave cold. I sometimes warm up the wood in the oven first too. Just make sure that you apply several coats before you put any liquid in it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales