My first trip out.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Steve R

Forager
Jan 29, 2007
Lincolnshire UK
Had my first trip out last weekend with my new kit (I am new to bushcrafting).

Arrived at the meeting place around 11 on Sat and phoned in, we met up and went down to the camp grounds.

Took me ages to set up my hammock as my tarp is only a bit longer than my hammock and I wanted it low, just in case.

Eventually got it centred and at the height I wanted and tried it out, I was right, the tapes broke. Re-tied and tried again, broke again.

At this point a shower blew in and I gathered my gear under the tarp and threaded 7mm paracord through the ends of the tarp.

Got the hammock back up again and this time it was ok.

Drank tea and chatted bushcraft for a while then decided to do something abouy the tarp, I re hung it 2/3 – 1/3 over the ridgeline and hung my poncho from ynder the 1/3 side to almost the ground, this worked well.

Woke up in the morning with the small of my back touching the ground, something had stretched.

Set off home around lunchtime Sun.

Had a great time and learned loads, especially about my kit, things learned :-

My sleeping bag is excellent, I was toasty all night.

I need to shape the thermal mat I put in it.

I need a bigger tarp.

May hammock needs better tapes.

I need a bigger rucksack, want to actually take less kit than I did (I was testing stuff) but I figure a rucksack doesn’t have to be full, just have the ability to hold quite a bit of stuff.

Bushcrafting is the biz.

Wayland

Hárbarðr
Did you set your tarp up diagonally? That can give you better length with a hammock sometimes.

Scotmeet.jpg

Like this.

Squidders

Aug 3, 2004
Harrow, Middlesex
Steve R said:
Took me ages to set up my hammock as my tarp is only a bit longer than my hammock and I wanted it low, just in case.