My First Spoon

Robby

Nomad
Jul 22, 2005
Glasgow, Southside
My son got me a set of frosts Hook knives for christmas. this is my first attempt at a spoon made using some pine strapping that I had lying about in the shed.

spoon.jpg

cut and shaped using the hook knives and my rehandled Mora and then sanded.

Robby

Nomad
Jul 22, 2005
Glasgow, Southside
I did really enjoy working through it. I want to try a Kuksa next and I've got a couple of other projects in the pipeline. The most addictive thing I've found so far has been knife making and doing the leather work for them, but the carving does run a close second.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
Nicely done. It's nice to sit down and carve, it chills me out so long as I don't have kids running about! I need to get out and get some wood to start carving with my new Carvin Jack.

Robby

Nomad
Jul 22, 2005
Glasgow, Southside
It was my first proper bit of carving as such, and it amazed me how much I could tell by the sound the blade was making going through the wood. whether I was going to deep or such. I got really absorbed in the whole process.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
A good bit of kit for use whilst carving is a little leather thumb pad for the hand holding the spoon knife. I tend to get lots of little cuts on my thumb, none bleed as they just nick the skin but after a while they tend to get a bit sore. So, I take a piece of thick leather and cut two grooves into it. The leather needs to be slightly wider than your thumb and if you can get a piece to cover the whole thumb then all the better. If you use a small piece, cut a U shaped slit around the edge of the leather to the mid point, this you can then fold out and put your thumb into. You then have a big pad of leather on the themb with the tag holding it in place. If you have a larger pad, cut two seperate U's, one for the top of the thumb and one for the bottom.