My first attempt

Donny

Jan 7, 2008
Northampton, UK.
youtube.com
This is actually my first go at everything. My first Bushcraft Knife, first time sharpening one, first axe and sharpening of, the first log I've split, and so on...and of course the first spoon I've carved...

It's a bit poor... It's rough and odd looking but I still have a bit of tidying up to do on it, but I don't want it ending up like numerous wooden spoons we've bought for use in our kitchen! I like the clearly-hand-carved-with-a-knife look ;)

Photo 1
Photo 2
Photo 3

What tree is this? I know nothing about trees yet, i'm still learning:
Photo 4

I'm not going use this spoon, it will just be kept as a token of my first attempt at carving. Should I treat it with linseed oil, polish it with some nice dark pine bees wax? or both?

Also, I'd like to thank Steve again for his kind gesture of providing me with a great knife! After all the carving it was still sharp enough to shave the hair on my arm! I'm dead impressed!

Matt Weir

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 22, 2006
Tyldesley, Lancashire.
That's great stuff Donny :D

I wont offer any advice as I've only just done an MFS but I will tell you that I soaked mine in linseed oil overnight and it brought the grain up nice.

Well done mate.

godfather

Nomad
Oct 28, 2003
Hertfordshire
Donny,

well done on all fronts. It's a great looking spoon I will give you a big confidence boost to continue doing other projects.
Looks like the start of an affliction called "acute spooncarvingits" which I and may others suffer from. It is a precursor to many wonderful afflictions!! Long may they continue.;)

Donny

Jan 7, 2008
Northampton, UK.
youtube.com
Thanks to both of you! I must move on swiftly to my second project, which is an owl for my Grandparent's 50th wedding anniversary. I can't afford gold so wood will have to do :) I'm sure that log will make a nice owl...

godfather

Nomad
Oct 28, 2003
Hertfordshire
Donny,