Mora Clipper Rehandle Tutorial

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

stoneraven

Dec 14, 2006
Canada
Soon after checking out the Bushcraft UK website and after all the good ideas and information I’ve seen on the site, I decided to purchase and rehandle a couple of Mora Clippers for my boys for Christmas. Here is the result. This mini tutorial is a bit of a thanks for all the ideas this site has shared with me

1. I bought a number of Mora clippers this one is stainless. Wrapped the blade up in tape to protect it and protect me (they are sharp!)
2. Ran a band saw down the handle and popped the handle off. Decided since this is my first attempt at rehandling I’d use the same handle design. Voila an instant template. Don’t forget to grind down the backs of the knife blade to get a nice ninety-degree edge for your fire steel. The way the Mora comes, it needs a little work.

4. Didn’t like the idea of rehandling without a pin in the hidden tang. Wrapped the blade and as much of the tang as possible with a sopping wet cloth and used a torch to anneal the metal in the tang to be able to drill it without ruining the temper of the blade. The result is below.

5. I fit two pieces of ebony for the bolsters. Marked and drilled them out. Used a fret saw to cut out the hole to fit the tang and then needle files to give her a nice fit. Used a couple pieces of scrap maple I had in the shop. Sanded the pieces on a disk sander, but a glass plate with sandpaper would do the trick. Sanded the ebony and Maple to fit nice and snug. Used a dremel to score the tang for the epoxy to hold on to.

6. Milled out the tang area using a drill press and milling cutter. A sharp knife would work but this gave me a nice fit.