Mineral Oil

mark a.

Settler
Jul 25, 2005
Surrey
I've heard mineral oil being recommended for all kinds of oiling duties, but I've no idea where to get it. Any ideas?

It'll be for keeping our new (kitchen) chopping board healthy. If mineral oil turns out to be impossible to get hold of I suppose I could go with something like Tung oil, but that's not cheap.

Thanks,

Mark

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Mark,
Though I'm not an expert on the subject, to my memory mineral oils are used for lubricating engines and should be kept well away from any food contact.
I would have thought some or any of the vegedible oils would be a lot better for you and the chopping board.

I'm willing to be shown the error of my ways though!

Ogri the trog

mark a.

Settler
Jul 25, 2005
Surrey
Cheers Skanker. That gives me hope - although that does mean a trip to Ikea at some point, which is never pleasant IMO.

Ogri, I think it's ok for food use. I've seen it recommended for chopping boards, and Wikipedia seems to suggest it's ok (used for all kinds of things including baby oil and, interestingly enough, as a laxative).

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
mark a. said:
Ogri, I think it's ok for food use..... interestingly enough, as a laxative).

OK cool,
But how do you know if its some dodgy food or the a laxative effect giving you the "Abbu Dabi two step!" :eek:

ATB

Ogri the trog

Goose

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 5, 2004
Widnes
www.mpowerservices.co.uk
I thought the same as Ogri, three main types of oil, animal, vegetable and mineral(and I suppose you could add synthetic now). Mineral being of petrochemical origin.

Lithril

Administrator
Admin
Jan 23, 2004
Southampton, UK
I've got a birch wood butchers block that I use as a chopping board, and I use olive oil, mind you if the board is new then it can get expensive as the wood soaks up vast amounts of oil.

scanker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales