Lofty wiseman type survival pouch question

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tom89

Tenderfoot
Jul 23, 2013
England
Hi, I'm this is my first forum so I'm not quite sure how this works, I tried uploading this before so it may already be up, so sorry if its up twice. Basically I'm new to survival/ bushcraft and I've put together a survival tin and I'm currently putting together an accompanying pouch like in the sas survival guide with a mess tin etc. what my question is , is the pouch an emergency backup in the same way the tin is and you have a main mess tin, cooker etc in your main backpack or is the mess tin and hexy cooker the ones you would use daily in the pouch and that's it?

Cheers

Tom

wingstoo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 12, 2005
South Marches
It's another layer of personal survival kits, the tin is the last ditch kit when nearly all else has gone, the belt kit is one step above.

I doubt that they would carry a full back up and use it daily, I guess it's another question I'll be asking John when I drop a book around to him in August.

rik_uk3

Banned
Jun 10, 2006
south wales
Survival tins are a bit of fun, but no real use in the UK. Small first aid kit, mobile phone and spare battery plus £50 cash is a more realistic UK 'survival' kit.

Apr 8, 2009
Ashdown Forest
Survival tins are a bit of fun, but no real use in the UK. Small first aid kit, mobile phone and spare battery plus £50 cash is a more realistic UK 'survival' kit.

Bang on. Further, a backup pouch is only of use to a buschrafter if there is a real danger of being separated from their main kit. Of more relevance to elements of the armed forces where circumstances may require they ditch their main kit.