leather pancake sheath

luckylee

On a new Journey
Aug 24, 2010
birmingham
i was asked by a member on bb to make a leather sheath, in the style of the chris reeve type paqncake sheath, he wanted it in tan, and he wanted a paw print on it, and white stitching.
so this is what i made him.
hope you like it, its my first time at this type of sheath, and enjoyed making it.

001 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

002 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

008 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

014 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

005 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

011 by lucky_lee, on Flickr

004 by lucky_lee, on Flickr
all comments welcome.
take care.
lee.

luckylee

On a new Journey
Aug 24, 2010
birmingham
nice work again.

is there a purpose for that shape of sheath,like comfort? Or is it a cosmetic thing?
i'm not sure bud, i just made what he asked lol, i think its a bit of both to ne honest mate.
it is comfy when worn, if that helps mate.

cowboy

Banned
May 3, 2010
The shire
looks great Lee! very clean!! Iv never seen this style sheath for a fixed blade, i Imagen its quite restricting with not much movement. Which is what some people want!

Good job Anyway mate, love the dye tone too..

luckylee

On a new Journey
Aug 24, 2010
birmingham
looks great Lee! very clean!! Iv never seen this style sheath for a fixed blade, i Imagen its quite restricting with not much movement. Which is what some people want!

Good job Anyway mate, love the dye tone too..
you got it mate, i think that, why people like it, they do a lot of these type sheaths for folders to.
and angle them to how you would like to deploy it, they are very popular in the states, the original design was taken from gun holsters i think, and then adapted to carry knives.

luckylee

On a new Journey
Aug 24, 2010
birmingham
That looks so sweet mate, great work as usual thing of a new design for a sheath for you if no one has come up with it, planning it on paper first then going to do a model of it before putting it to you :)