Leather and tools advice please ?

S

steelyglint

Evening all,

I'm new to this whole game and having just made my first knife from a kit I am hooked , but I need some advice please I've just been on Tandy's website, with a view to buying some leather for the next 2 knives, but having read there Q&A page and searching here I'm still none the wiser about how thick I need sheath leather to be or how to buy it, I think I need full grain leather but what weight if that's the right term and from which part of the animal.

I also need a stitch wheel, 5 6 or 7 per inch ?

Needles and thread to stitch it with, natural fiber or synthetic, what size needles ?

Is there anything I've missed essentials wise ? I have a sharp awl, drills a hole punch set (wheel type) and an eyelet plier set (good old ebay!)

Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks in advance for any replies

Martin

(same post is on British Blades too, just to save any duplications)

jojo

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 16, 2006
England's most easterly point
For making knife sheaths, I use shoulder veg tan leather from Leprevo, 2.5mm to 3.5mm thick. I use a 5 per inch wheel, although I have been known to use a ordinary fork for spacing the stitching too!

I use the rounded saddler's needles, not sure the sizes though... I am at work, so can't check at the moment. They are quite cheap though so you can try a selection of sizes and can then decide on what suits you best.

For thread, I use either linen, polyester or artificial sinew ( I am not so keen on that for sheath work) I prefer the polyester thread, the stuff sold for the "speedy stitcher".

You also would need a small block of beeswax to wax the threads, particularly linen.

A stitch groover is also useful, to keep your sewing an even distance from the edge and also to create a groove that helps protect the thread.

Better go back to work now!!

Last edited:

leon-1