Knotty problem

madelinew

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2008
Isle of Wight
What's the best knot for securing a tarp? Or for guy-ropes in general. Should I just pull the cord tightly and anchor it to the ground or is it best to set it up as a guy-rope so that it can be adjusted and tightened if necessary? I'm not good with knots (understatement) and have been known to improvise with a slip knot on tent guy-ropes which - well - slip. Especially when it's peeing with rain as it was last time I did this and the ropes were soaked through and very slippery.

scanker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales
For guy ropes I'd use a Tautline hitch at the tarp end (so you can adjust tension from in bed) and a clove hitch with the loose end around your peg.

Some sort of slip knot at one end of the tarp (slipped figure of eight) and a tensioning hitch at the other (either trucker's hitch or the one where you loop back and forth to tension - can't remember the name of that one).

HTH.

tyfy

Forager
Nov 4, 2006
Peebles, Scotland
I recently got my first tarp and I was wondering about knots as well.

I am going to try the Siberian hitch for the slip knot at one end of the Ridge line.

To tension it I am going to use either the tarp taut hitch or the Powercinch

As for the guys I have been practising the Tensioning Hitch. Guy rope fixed at the peg and tensioned at the tarp end.

I will also be using either the Prussik or Klemheist to tension the ridgeline of the tarp when either suspended or draped over the ridge line.

Most knots mentioned in this post.

I like the idea they are quick release as long as they don't quick release in the middle of the night on top of me :D

madelinew

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2008
Isle of Wight