I found a cleaver in the back of the shed

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Redwall

Tenderfoot
Apr 12, 2011
Bristol
So I found this badboy in the back of the shed:
2012-11-13160642.jpg

Started cleaning up the blade today, a good treatment with the file brought the blade back to a rough edge but at least one free of dings. Been working for a little while on the faces now but it's become clear that the handle needs to come off.

I've never done anything with stick tangs before, how do I get it off, do I buy or make a new handle and how to a reattach it? It looks like there is a rivet type thing hammered over on the end of the handle.

fishfish

Jul 29, 2007
wiltshire
yep thats a peened tang,normally i would just fille it off and the handle will slip off ,maybe with a little help, would be nice to get a new one turned by a wood turner.

Samon

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 24, 2011
Britannia!
sweet find! I'd love an unexplored shed to root through :D

saying that, I found an old cleaver in my loft that I had used to fit floor boards to shape when I was making it into a shooting room. However, I chopped it up into a throwing knife! was fun too :)

are you gona give it a vinegar bath and polish it up? or keep it rustic?

Redwall

Tenderfoot
Apr 12, 2011
Bristol
sweet find! I'd love an unexplored shed to root through :D

saying that, I found an old cleaver in my loft that I had used to fit floor boards to shape when I was making it into a shooting room. However, I chopped it up into a throwing knife! was fun too :)

are you gona give it a vinegar bath and polish it up? or keep it rustic?

My granddad's shed is a veritable treasure trove. I found tools that I never knew existed. This has been used to split logs and the top is flattened from being beaten on.