How do i make Nettle cordage?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

shanec

May 11, 2005
Didcot, Oxford
Hello everyone, im new here. I'm also new to bushcraft and everything but im very interested. Ive been watching some ray mears programs and looking for articles on the internet. One thing i haven't been able to find is how to make nettle cordage.

Could anyone possibley explain to me or point me towards a good tutorial please? Id like to know how to get the fibers from the nettles and how to make it into cordage and everything, would anyone mind doing this for me please? Thank you very much, and nice to be here :)

MartiniDave

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 29, 2003
Cambridgeshire
OK, if you get Ray Mears latest dvd - Bushcraft Survival - there is a nice "extra" tutorial showing explicitly how to do just what you ask.

It's also covered quite well in his Survival Handbook too.

Happy crafting and try not to get stung!

Dave

Buckshot

Mod
Mod
Jan 19, 2004
Oxford
Interesting link there JD. :)

You're just down the road from me - literally.
Also if you can go to the moot at Braizers at the end of the month there are loads of people who would be able to help I'm sure.
See the thread in meetups.

Nice to have you aboard by the way.

Cheers
Mark

shanec

May 11, 2005
Didcot, Oxford
Thanks alot guys ill go have a look at all your links and everything, was very helpfull :)

Buckshot, ill go have a look on the meetups and read about it id like to go would be cool. Thanks again for all your help :)

hootchi

Settler
Here you go buddy. This is what I posted a bit back for someone else but is probably easier to look on the sites because they have pics and stuff.

This is how I do it:

Cut the tall old nettles off as low down as possible, not dead ones, still green.

Strip of the leaves