How awesome is this?!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Phaestos

Sep 8, 2012
Manchester
This is months old, but I thought I'd show you all a picture of something rather remarkable I found.

I'm a student of Ancient History and the University of Manchester, and on a trip round the museum, giving a tour to some people, I spotted this. It's 4000 years old.

wp000101a.jpg

That bow is about a foot long. I have difficulty doing the bow and drill with a bow as long as my arm! For the people of Egypt, where this is from, it was daily task to make fire like this. I know that is not a new fact on this forum, but I have to marvel at it regardless. It's also interesting to consider that we figure the bow and drill as a survival method, or at least something to do when out camping. For these people, it was day to life, as casual as a lighter to us.

Just thought I should share this.

Cheers

little_leaf177

Tenderfoot
Oct 24, 2011
Liverpeewwll
Great image. I love the way you put it at the end comparing it to a lighter, skills we endure to learn was a part of every day life back then...
real eye opener :) thanks

Bumbler

Nomad
Feb 22, 2013
Norway
www.bushcraft.no
I made friction fire in one minute with a hand drill set after one demonstration from our masai guides when I was on Safari in Kenya. They have other types of wood in Africa. The guide said the spindle came from a special tree, which made it very easy to make the fire. I had never even attempted friction fire before that. So it's likely that a short bow like that is more than sufficient in Egypt.

Stringmaker

Native
Sep 6, 2010
UK
Well spotted and thanks for the image.