Hello from Wiltshire! With Questions!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

unijaw

Tenderfoot
Jan 11, 2013
Trowbridge,Wiltshire
Hi folks I'm a newbie to bush-craft I've spent the two years at college and have taken up in my spare time hiking and solo camping. All I've done currently is simple canal walks and overnight camps I'm also a keen cycler and wish to take up touring. After college I believe I will spend some time cycling to lands end from my home-town and perhaps take it further. I am now much more concerned about what I will be doing once night falls on a cycling trip or a hiking trip. Currently all I use is a two person tent or a bivy bag and set up for an overnight stay and I am uncomfortable having little to no knowledge of bush-craft. Although on tours and hiking trips I should have a camp-site or a hotel to lay my head I do want to be flexible and spend several days out in the wilderness should I need to. I have a few questions and if any of you folks could answer them I would appreciate it!

1. What is in your opinion the best digital resource for someone who wants to get into bush-craft? Particularly bush-craft based in the UK?
2. What is in your opinion the best knife for a newbie ideally around the £30 mark?
3. For building shelters should I purchase a axe or a machete? From research a machete is cheaper?
4. Are bush-craft courses worth the fee? and what courses would you recommend?
and finally
5. Do you know any decent spots for solo wild camping near and in Wiltshire?

plastic-ninja

Jan 11, 2011
cumbria
Welcome indeed.
1.You seem to have found the best digital resource on bushcraft in the UK already!
2.Get a Mora and save the other £20+ to put a decent first aid kit together!