Happy to be here and looking forward to learning from you all.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ExHelot

Nov 25, 2012
Michigan
Hi, I really don't know the expected protocol here but will do my best. I always feel awkward at times like this, never knowing how much to say or not to say about myself. The case being as it is, I'll begin with the bare facts. I'm 56 years old, married, father of five and father to three step children, so I've raised eight. I am a veteran as are my two eldest sons, this colors my world view so I do not engage in politics in venues such as this.
I was born, raised and reside in a small rural community in northern Michigan (U.S.). When I was a child of six I became lost in the cedar swamps while attempting to hunt with a spear that I had fashioned with my pocket knife. I so wanted to be like the other men in my family and make meat. Instead of doing anything constructive, I ended up lost in a snowstorm. I found my way home when I accidently made my way to the river and had the common sense to know that I should follow it upstream. I avoided a huge family disruption and more importantly to myself at that time, I also avoided a whipping. I followed a trapline with my granddad shortly thereafter and over the years I learned more woodcraft from him than I can say. Winter is my favorite time of year with Autumn a close second (no bugs to chew my hide) I started winter camping when I was eleven, with a friend. We took canned food, rope, a tarp, knife, axe, matches and a couple of wool blankets. We had a pretty sparse kit but a whole lot of fun that weekend.