Hammocks

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
You should check out UKHammocks, Mat is developing some kit for his interests in jungle trips

There's quite a difference between a Hennessy and the Snugpak, how did you come to those two? If I was spending Hennessy money I'd get a Warbonnet.

jacko1066

Native
May 22, 2011
march, cambs
Im no expert, but what I would say is condensation can be a massive issue in hammocks at the best of times let alone being in a very humid jungle!!

So my advice would be to look at the materials and get the most breathable fabric that you can afford, and also the most lightweight!!

I have had my ups and downs and some rel bad luck with Mat at uk hammocks, but he always always came through in the end and also there is no questioning his knowledge on hammocks!!

The new expedition hammock he designed looks the nuts, and there is a sale on at the minute!!

Cheers
Steve

Broomstickize

Forager
Jul 28, 2011
Suffolk, UK
Thanks for the info so far, it would seem that the Hennessy and UKHammock are rather saggy, inherent it there design. I would prefer a taught hammock and it seem you can tension the Snugpak as the net is then lift off you by a separate cord.

what are peoples views, I don't fancy the idea of sleeping folded in two. lol

ex-member BareThrills

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 5, 2011
United Kingdom
Thanks for the info so far, it would seem that the Hennessy and UKHammock are rather saggy, inherent it there design. I would prefer a taught hammock and it seem you can tension the Snugpak as the net is then lift off you by a separate cord.

No hammock will leave you folded in two mate if its pitched correctly. The idea is to lie as flat as possible. If your hammock is behaving like a big banana its not pitched correctly.