Good sources of flint in the North?

N

Neolithic

I was wondering if anyone could suggest any good sources of flint in the North/ Northwest, or Wales, for knapping?

Been thinking about having a go for a long time, and I think I've put it off for long enough!

Any tips would be most welcome!

Thanks!

:)

robin wood

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 29, 2007
derbyshire
www.robin-wood.co.uk
I am no expert on this but I thought flint always occurred in chalk or limestone which would make North Wales and the North West a bit of a poor area. Of course there will always be bits of broken flint moved around during glaciation everywhere but for knapping you want big clean nodules. I picked some up just before Christmas on holiday in Norfolk. So keep an eye out if you ever go on a trip somewhere chalky.

Grooveski

Native
Aug 9, 2005
Glasgow
There's a good document about that area on the Liverpool museum website, came across it a while ago looking for info on Langdale.
http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/mol/archaeology/arf/documents/PREHISTORICASSESSMENT.pdf

There are open chert beds in North Yorkshire. Can't recall the name of the hill, it's a dyke on a hilltop maybe 10 miles south of Kirkby Stephens - off to the east of the wee road that runs towards Hawes. Never did make it up to it when I lived there but it sounded a fair size. It's an intrusion on the limestone strip that shows on the map.

[edit]
Had a look at a map, reckon it's Mallerstang Edge, nowhere near ten miles, more like five.

Stonesdale caught my eye on the map, a bit of rummaging brought up mentions of Fremington Edge Chert Quarry but no real info as to whether it's on the surface or a mine. Location on page 2 of this.

N

Neolithic

Thanks for that guys, really great info!