Garden office

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Will Bowden

Tenderfoot
Jan 23, 2009
Exmoor
www.MuddyRedLandRover.co.uk
There is a chance we will be moving home shortly and I'll be needing to create some office space. All I need to work is a desk and some shelf space. The plan is to buy a garden shed of 8'x6' or so.

Obviously I will insulate the shed, I design buildings for a living so getting that right is a doddle.

Initially I thought about bunging a small woodburner in then I did some quite calculations and realised it would be a sauna most of the time so now I'm on Plan B which is where you resourceful folk come in. Any suggestions?

Electrickery is cheap to install but a bit souless

There are some funky old paraffin heats about that would look the part, I haven't used one for years though so maybe my recollections of the smell are too rose tinted. I did ponder what else they would run on, any thoughts?

Candles, don't laugh, I seem to remember they actually give off a fair amount of heat, you just need to ensure you make the most of it...and buy them cheaply...

Solar heaters - bit of a pfaff to make but they seem to work, I may be a bit over shaded though.

Will :)

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Your view on paraffin heaters might change, given that you can now get ROLF - Reduced Odour Liquid Fuel - in layman's terms it it de-odourised paraffin!

They claim that it produces zero smell, but to my perception there is a "paraffiny" whiff to it but nowhere near as bad as the old type burners.

You could always just put on another jumper and "Man Up!"

ATB

Ogri the trog

daveO

Native
Jun 22, 2009
South Wales