Foraging book

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Johnie

Oct 20, 2015
Sunderland
Was looking for advice on some good books on foraging and flora ID, mick suggested I ask here. Bear in mind I'm a total novice at this so even basic guides are helpful!

Johnie

Oct 20, 2015
Sunderland
May I suggest a different approach, even if it's just as a starting point ?

http://fergustheforager.co.uk/recipes-articles/a-review-of-wild-food-literature/

Fergus' website has masses of articles, and better yet, he tells you when something is available so it's worthwhile looking for it and becoming familiar with what's actually growing. :D

atb,
M
Thanks toddy. I'll make sure to check it out. I was also looking for a hard copy to take out with me. I will have a look now thanks for the help.
Johnie.

mick91

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 13, 2015
Sunderland

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Thanks for the Heads Up, Mick :)
No idea why, because we'd already approved his posts :dunno: One for Admin to suss out. I've fixed it from my end though.

One of the good things about folks like Fergus who write articles like those on his site is that one can compile a 'book' of plants that actually suits the area you're likely to forage.

The first link I gave is to his own reviews of some foraging books.
The best book I know of is Edmund Launert's Edible and Medicinal Plants of Britain and Northern Europe…..and it's a good pocket carrying size too :)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/06003528...1171437?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445549135&sr=1-2

Everyone has their own favourite though :)

cheers,
M

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
At that price the book's a steal :D