Fly fishing season

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mark a.

Settler
Jul 25, 2005
Surrey
I know next to nothing about fishing, but I need to help organise a fly-fishing trip as a present to my father-in-law.

It'll be in Scotland, but when's the best time for fly-fishing?

If anyone happens to know any decent fly-fishing courses (he'll be a complete novice, so will need instruction and kit) in a nice area of Scotland (preferably west) then I'd be grateful for any suggestions.

Thanks,

Mark

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
You could do worse than go to WH Smiths and pick up copies of Trout Fisherman, Trout and Salmon, and Fly Fishing & Fly Tying, and see who is advertising guide services/tuition. Some guides will be more tuned to dealing with a beginner.

Anything is possible if you can throw money at it ;)

Bear in mind that bank fishing in June through to September is likely to be midge infested. Trout fishing can be had a lot further south than Scotland if you are after river fishing. The lakes and reservoirs of England are a little less impressive than the Scottish lochs, but rivers like the Wharfe are very pretty.

I was going to suggest this book:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos...47904/sr=1-5/ref=sr_1_2_5/026-4074369-9922000
but it looks like it will be coming out a bit late for you.

Doc

Need to contact Admin...
Nov 29, 2003
Perthshire
For trout fishing the far north west is very nice.

I've stayed here when working at Scourie:
http://www.rhiconichhotel.co.uk/

and they have a lot of fishing available and can fix you a ghillie for £40 a day. There are plenty of other options though.