First Solo Night

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Well, I finally managed to get out for my first night ever in a hammock! I packed my 40L rucksack (waaaaay too small for everything lol, but I was determined!) and headed out to a spot I've known for years after growing up here...what I saw when I got there however, gave me a bit of a shock :eek:

[video=youtube;4d0iDlQVLdc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4d0iDlQVLdc&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/video]

(Beware, I probably should have shortened it more, too much of me blethering lol!!)

Eventually managed to find somewhere to hang for the night, and yes I've missed out a whole lot of things I should have mentioned about hammocking with a disability, but I'm new to this whole youtubing vblog thingy lol! It's as much of a learning process as the bushcrafting...but at least I know what sort of things to do next time :)

Suffice to say I had an awesome time with the dog...the most difficult challenge I encountered was actually walking to the spot - I use a walking stick & had to park as close as I could which I hate having to do, and I would have liked to go further but couldn't as I was in a fair bit of pain. Anyway, I learned a lot about what I could change while out there :) which is always beneficial.

Any advice would be well appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator:

Johnnyboy1971

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 24, 2010
Yorkshire
Great little vid and thanks for sharing.
Its been and still is a learning curve for us all but that's part of the fun.
You said you were cold, what did you have under your sleeping bag as insulation?
When its chilly I still use a bottle filled with hot water pushed down by my feet. If there warm so am I.

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Great wee video,