First Dutch Oven Meal - Roast Chicken with Bacon and Cider [pic heavy]

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wallenstein

Settler
Feb 14, 2008
Warwickshire, UK
Finally got a chance to christen my Ronnie Sunshine's Dutch Oven this evening - rather than start off gently I decided to throw caution to the wind and cook a proper family meal. Part of the reason I bought a 12" oven was so I could cook roasts etc rather than just stews (which work just as well in a casserole pot over a gas burner).

As I'm new to cooking with a Dutch Oven I want to try a few recipes in the garden under more controlled conditions - there's a time and a place to find out a recipe doesn't quite work, but a chilly campsite with a hungry family is not that time!

I decided to cook a roast chicken with a bacon and cider sauce. I figure if I can get that right then the same principles should apply to pork and beef joints, with endless variations in the sauce options (red wine, white wine, balsamic vinegar, tomatoes etc).

Ingredients list:

- a 1.2kg chicken (about 2.6lbs)
- streaky bacon
- two red onions
- sunflower oil
- garlic
- lemon
- creme fraiche
- 500ml organic Herefordshire cider
- herbs (oregano/marjoram from the garden)

I normally buy free-range chicken but for this inaugural meal I went with a bog standard Waitrose bird for £4.00 (just in case I cremated it!).

IyYZW.jpg

The chicken was stuffed with the garlic, lemon and herbs then wrapped in half the bacon to keep it moist. I also sprinkled some salt, pepper and mixed herbs on top to add some seasoning.

j09Hr.jpg

I added a couple of tablespoons of oil into the oven and heated it over approx. 24 briquettes; then I sauted the onions and remaining bacon until soft and golden (about 10-15 mins).

Wb5Fe.jpg