Eucalyptus wood what to use it for?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ivan...

Ex member
Jul 28, 2011
Dartmoor
Well i too would be interested in an answer , as i was a tree surgeon for ten years , and cut many a eucalyptus down and it was a sod to split , it was heavy and if you left it to season it started to look like a grapefruit segment , cross section of course , and it never burned very well ! It must be good for something other than koala food, looking pretty in a bouquet and smelling nice ! oh yeah and the fact that said customers thought it was a good idea to plant , then paid people like Gill and i to cut them down , as the grow like hell !

ol smokey

Oct 16, 2006
Scotland
When a boy, about 60 years ago, I was given a boomerang from friends of my parents in Australia. You can say it was heavy and this was and it was said to be made from.eucalyptus. It was three times the weight of the ones you see nowadays for sale in toy/sports shops along with Frisbees, I nearly killed my father with it. As he was behind me when it returned and overshot one day. It really returned well but depending on the wind, it would often overshoot and land behind the thrower. It often landed on hard ground and did not come to any harm, It's final demise came about when it
landed on a surfaced road, much to my sorrow Stuart.

AussieVic

Forager
Jan 24, 2011
Victoria, Australia
Eucalyptus - There are lots of species, and I’ve burnt lots of different ones over the years.

Generally they burn hot with good coals and no spitting. To get the best firewood out of them, split the wood when its green and let it dry out for 6 to 12 months. Then burn it.