Cryotex super hardened stainless steel kitchen knives

Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
Being an avid outdoor enthusiast, whilst watching the tv, I noticed the cryotex kitchen knife range featuring cryogenically hardened stainless steel, resulting in super sharp, hard, and flexible. Does anybody have any experience, or know of any knives like it ?

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
.....like the lifetime sharp Kitchen Devil's ?

I've got some I've been using for 20 years and they're still sharp :) and never seen a hone or stone either.
Maybe not shaving sharp, but then I'm a housewife cook, not a professional chef.

cheers,
M

Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
well it was just a what if post really.

Cryogenic hardening is in its infancy at the moment according to 'tinernet. Just very impressed with the flexible nature of the knives inline with the hardness, as it is often the case hardness increases when flexability decreaces.

Ps. Toddy my kitchen devil tomato knife is the most useful knife in my draw. They are good.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire
I'm not a fan of Cryo. Everything i have read says all it does is increase the max hardness a steel can reach by upto 3RC. From the data sheets i have for various steels, they state that using cryo will have a detrimental impact on toughness. A few knifemakers will say different though.

Cryo was orignially developed for use with machine tools, as a way to prolong the life of a tool where resharpening wasn't a consideration. They are normally big thick things with pretty steep bevels.

I would be really interested in seeing a side by side comparison of 2 blades, one cryo'd, one not, in use and under stress though. As that is really the only way to make an accurate judgement. But in my experience, hardness and toughness work on opposing scales. More hard, less tough.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire