Considering making a significant change

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

thatch

Feb 17, 2007
Norway
I just wanted to air an idea I've been having for a while.

I'm currently a student at a university here in Norway. I'm studying product development/design/production management. I'm halfway through my second year of a three year bachelorsdegree, but now I feel I have come to a point where I need to consider making a change. The degree I have started on is alright I guess, but I've not once in almost two years really become interested in what we are learning. I think it's time for me to switch over to something else. Let me just say this. I'm not attending university to get a degree and a fancy job. I can do whatever I set my mind to, I just need to find something that I enjoy doing. That's the only thing I care about.

I thought about what I like to do in my sparetime. Being a member of this forum, I obviously like the outdoors. I grew up with the wild directly outside my house, and I've always loved nature and animals. I'm thinking I might try to somehow get into a profession that let's me combine those two things. At a nearby university, they have a programme that translated into english is called "Forest and wildlife management". This is also a bachelors programme, but with a very much hands on approach with a lot of time spent in the woods instead of in classrooms and such.

This sound absolutely spot on for me, as I have always been more of a practical/hands on person when it comes to learning new things. That's also one of the reasons that I've had a hard time enjoying university so far, because everything is very theoretical, with few oppertunities to see how things actually work in real life.