Coleman Petrol Stoves advice needed please.

johnboy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 2, 2003
Hamilton NZ
www.facebook.com
It'll run on unleaded petrol and white gasoline.

White gasoline is commonly known as coleman fuel in the UK.

They will also run on a fuel known as ASPEN which can be sourced in the uk as well this is a Alkylate petrol. There is a heap of info on this on google.

You cannot use any other fuel such as kerosene or Meths's is this type of stove.

HTH

bronskimac

Forager
Aug 22, 2011
Dundee
Panel Wipe (use by car sprayers to clean panels before the spray) it's pure naptha. I got a 5 litre tin. Works out a lot cheaper than Coleman fuel.

garethw

Settler
Hi there
These are brilliant little stoves... I've been using them for over 25 years and they are fabulous for fishing and camping. Not really a hiking stove as they are somewaht weighty.
Coleman's are kind of an acquired taste and delicate science, but once embraced they work very well. Always use top quality unleaded fuel... or Coleman fuel. Any attempt to use kerosene, or other fuels will result in a blocked generator which will certainly need replacing.
From time to time it is useful to switch between Coleman and Unleaded, but bearing in mind coleman fuel is like 17 times the price of unleaéded you'll not use it often. You can add a few drop of redex to the unleaded from time to time to help keep the jet clean.
I love these and for fishing they are all I use.. I have one of the double burners too....
Cheers
Gareth

Ps: If you have a problem and need spares .. these guys have the lot. http://www.tacklebox.co.uk/on-the-bank/bank-and-camping-gear/cooking/coleman-stove-spares/

Last edited:

salan

Nomad
Jun 3, 2007
Cheshire
The people I know that have used kero have not had any problems with the generator blocking. it's just hard to prime enough
Alan

garethw

Settler