cedar strip canoe construction..

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

DMadden

Forager
Aug 31, 2009
South Shields
Hi all, some time in the near(ish) future I realy want to build my own cedar strip canoe. I have never done anything like this before, I'm a complete novice, but this project has realy captured my imagination!

• So, could any of you offer some advice?
  • Major do's and don'ts...
  • I'm thinking of drawing up my own plans from figures in the 'Canoecraft' book - to save a bit money :confused:
  • I can realy only make a 12 foot (give or take a few inches) canoe due to space restrictions, is this a decent sized canoe?

ANY advice will be great!

Thanks for reading,
Dan.

Apr 10, 2010
Germany
I think Ray Mears made one in one of his videos.

Watch them on youtube, Ithink it' s called birch bark canoe.

I am no expert, but I liked the video:35:. I think it' s very informative.

Sry my English, I am German:togo:.

bhofmann

Forager
Dec 18, 2009
Exmouth, Devon, England, UK
Cedar strip is very different to Birch bark construction. Birch bark is like a skin over a frame. Cedar strip is put on a frame to make the cover, but it's in strips, not in a wide sheet. There are some very nice videos (bad lighting but nice videos) on YouTube showing a chap making a Cedar strip canoe:

Part1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFpcW7cnB08

Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIxCYSha83w

Part 3:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-H_Yk2WNfpE

Enjoy, and if you do try it, PLEASE take lots of photos or video.

jojo

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 16, 2006
England's most easterly point