Camping for 3 days: What size rucksack would be best?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Red Five

Jun 3, 2011
Birmingham
I'm new to bushcraft and am looking for some advice on the size/type of rucksack for 3 days in the English countryside. I'm working to a budget and looking for a cost-effective solution.

beenn

Banned
Nov 16, 2009
South Wales
If i was packing for a 3 day camp i would aim to use around a 50 liter pack.
It will change from person to person and what you do. Most space for many people is taken up with sleeping equipment like a tarp or tent, sleeping bag, sleeping mat, bivvy bag, hammocks and under blankets and so on. Whereas some people make their own shelter and sleeping arrangements so pack far less :)

I would put together a list of what you think you need and what your going to take and post it up here and you will get alot of help:D

Ben

nigeltm

Aug 8, 2008
south Wales
As beenn said, a 50ltr bag is enough to hold a basic setup for an overnight or short trip. In my opinion the main question is what you will do for food and water. You can make do with one t-shirt for a few days. One tin of beans? If you have access to supplies while out and about then 50ltr is no problem. If you don't and you have to carry in everything then it may not be enough.

As a minimum your looking at 2ltr of water a day, which is 6ltr. If you are exerting yourself you'll need more. 1ltr of water is 1ltr in volume in the bag.

Food my be a litre or so in volume per day. This all depends on what type of food you take and how hungry you get. Dehydrated Is an option if you have access to water. If you don't then you may as well take hydrated food, as you would need to carry water to make up the hydrated meals anyway.

Good advice from been, post up your kit list and it'll help.

Last edited:

Shewie

Mod
Mod