buying woods to wild camp

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

would anyone be interested in taking part in a purchase of woods via donation or other

• yes

Votes: 4 30.8%
  • no

Votes: 4 30.8%
  • maybe

Votes: 3 23.1%
  • good idea

Votes: 1 7.7%
  • bad idea

Votes: 2 15.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Shawng

Mar 4, 2022
Sleaford
hello guys and girls , id like to explain a theory or plan I've been toying with for a few years now.
I like many of you guys love wild camping in woods, down side is you either need to get permission or risk being moved on / danger from possible hunters / game keepers.
I have contemplated purchasing some woods, as I often see them advertised for prices as low as £6k for 1 or 2 acres upwards , there's some currently local at £26k for 3 acres. how great would that be to just go to your own woods and camp out knowing your safe and secure with local resources that can be used to its full advantage.
So what I'm looking for are ideas , on what's the best fundraising sites to use, a lot seem to be raising funds for individuals etc, I want one that's more for raising funds for a project , i.e. purchase woods!
would it be best to do it by selling shares in the woods whereby share holders get to camp free and have a say in the management of the woods with non share holder paying a minimum fee towards the upkeep / maintenance or just a straight forward fundraiser whereby people donate funds and when enough is raised the woods are purchased and are managed by a small group of like minded people ( please feel free to volunteer).
if this is a crap idea please tell me , I wont be offended. or on the other hand you'd be interested in assisting / taking part please get in touch.