bushbuddy/cooker vs hobo in the cold/wet

myotis

Apr 28, 2008
Somerset, UK.
Not sure whether this is kit chatter or fire craft, but...

Much as I love my Bushbuddy it does need a lot more TLC than a larger firebox, even in ideal conditions, not sure about a hobo because I have limited experience of these.

During this cold snap, and although I have managed well enough with the Bushbuddy, it has also been especially hard work.

Thicker sticks have been difficult to catch and its been a constant juggling act between thicker sticks that pretty well put it out, and then thinner sticks to rescue it and get the thicker sticks lit. To be fair, I overstate the hard work bit, because I enjoy it and equally, I am still getting my brew in a time that doesn't seem that long.

My gut feeling is that the problem is that the small size of the bushbuddy isn't really allowing it to build up any real core heat. and the less than perfectly dry and cold thicker sticks (1 to 1.5cm diameter) are sucking the heat out of the fire before they dry out and ignite properly.

I now have an insulated wind guard, and an insulated ground pad, using a lot more tinder than usual and burning thinner sticks longer than normal before trying the thicker sticks and its working OK. But I do wonder if the larger Honey stove or Hobo might actally perform better in these conditions as you will be able to get a slightly bigger core fire going in them.

Does anyone have any experience of using both stoves in these wintry conditions and think this may be the case, or does it not make any difference.

Thanks,

Graham

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
I've not tried them in cold conditions but I would choose the Honey Stove over the Bushcooker. I've always found that the Bushcooker needs a LOT of active management to keep it burning effectively, whereas the Honey Stove can be left alone to a reasonable degree.

Geoff

lamper

Jun 4, 2009
Brighton UK
www.peligra.com