Budget knife sharpening

CurtisJohnson

Jun 7, 2012
Durham
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to all this forum business, so I'll just get on with it :)
I have a mora companion that I've had for a while now and I can't afford to buy bench stones to sharpen it, so I'm really just looking for a compromise on the relatively cheap side. I'm currently using eze-lap LPAK diamond sharpeners by lying them flat on the bevel and just doing little circles until I'm satisfied, then the same with the ceramic side of a fallkniven dc3 stone. I'll then strop it with my belt, but won't put anything on the belt to assist with stropping. I just wondered what everyone's thoughts were on that and also if anyone had any other ideas I'd happily give them a try. I'll just stress I'm looking for functionality not cosmetics (the eze lap sharpeners leave no mirror finish but do leave rather brutal scratches, but I'm not that fussed :/ ) I'm probably going to give the £5 sharpening kit mentioned on another thread a go, seems like a cheap idea :)

All helps greatly appreciated

Curtis

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
I've seen people use the "little circle" method you describe. I've also seen them drae the blade backwards across the stone. However I was always taught to draw the blade FORWARd into the stone as if trying to slice it thinly.

I usually use a cheap carboundum stone available at any hardware shop. Many here on the forum use various grades of sandpaper (available cheaply at any DIY store)

juttle

Nomad
Feb 27, 2012
Devon
Once you've done the main work with your DC3, try using various grades of wet and dry paper. If you work through something like 400 - 800 - 1200 grits, at only 50p ish a sheet, you'll end up with a smooth cutting edge that should hold quite well, depending on usage, and even a mirror finish if you really want one. At only pennies a sheet that will last for ages it's a cheap alternative to whetstones or whatever.