bow strengthen tip

Aug 16, 2011
Hi guys newbie here , Just attributing some knowledge tips which is old news for many but maybe be off some help to others . we all know native american indians used sinew on the back of their bows to strengthen & add to power so here`s an alternative k.
1. plasterer scrim ( open weave backing ) 2. pvu glue 3. string . clingfilm
first better to have vice grip for easy handling of materials , put bow in with back facing up (none string side). run pvu glue from tip to tip on back only. be generous with glue, rub & flatten out with fingers. cut three lengths of scrim length of bow (tip to tip ) put on layers on top of each other (you want the glue to penetrate through all layers. next lace with string from tip to tip 2-3 inches of gaps to hold scrim in place. next from one end of bow wrap tightly clingfilm around to hold scrim tighly down & work clingfilm to oppasite end of bow.
leave at least 48 hrs to dry. Then take off clingfilm & trim scrim loose ends off .
their you have it a now improved bow now take out side draw target to try out with the wife holding the target for you to practise on - joking buy her a box off choc s tell her you love her for letting you have this new toy

ateallthepies

Native
Aug 11, 2011
hertfordshire
Yes seen this done on bows before and is a cheap easy backing option. Personally I am a naturals man and try to stay away from artificial bow materials(exception being modern glues) but each to their own:) .

Steve.

Aug 16, 2011
Steve i would love to see this done naturally never mind learn it ! be ossom but im only starting to learn the basics of sinew i.e what parts leg tendons & back bone where it is longer & then also just trying to make & form string & tying in added lenghts to make longer . how you do it , what the process bud ?

ateallthepies

Native
Aug 11, 2011
hertfordshire
Hi Northern,

Well sinewing a bow is easy, it's getting and processing the sinew that is the hard part!