Book binding

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

singteck

Settler
Oct 15, 2005
Malaysia
www.flickr.com
I wonder who else does that?

I have been doing it for over 10 years. Just made a book vice and book plough to help me trim thicker books.

20130104_221856.jpg

jackcbr

Native
Sep 25, 2008
Gatwick, UK
www.pickleimages.co.uk
Damn, I'm in the process of doing a blog on a book covering project I'm working on. But yours far eclipse it. Would love to see a tutorial as I quite fancy making my own book rather than just a cover for one.

Dave Budd

Gold Trader
Staff member
Jan 8, 2006
Dartmoor (Devon)
www.davebudd.com
nice looking plough :) Different to the others I've seen. I'm not a bookbinder myself, but courtesy of Sandsnakes (who is the Queens' head bookbinder!) I do make tools for the craft :) I've made a few blades for various ploughs over the last couple of years, what style have you gone for?

singteck

Settler
Oct 15, 2005
Malaysia
www.flickr.com
Thank you everyone. A tutorial would be a bit difficult since I wouldn't be making another one any time soon. I used a milling machine to square the blocks of wood and mill the grooves. Then just connect with rods. They are very simple to make.

The blade is just a normal craft blade that you can snap off.

Last edited:

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
My Tai Chi instructor was a bookbinder as well - her work was beautiful ... but her hardwear was not as good looking as your examples!

Buggane

Jul 30, 2012
Isle of Mann/ Liverpool
Your press and vice look good enough to be ornaments. I too am also in favour of you doing a tutorial :) would love to have made something to jot down my ideas over the coming summer.

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London