Blackcurrants

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Despite using them up as they ripen, I still find myself with 3.5kg of blackcurrants.

I've made jam, I've made jelly, I've made syrup, I've made muffins (not something HWMBLT and Son1 thought worth repeating, tbh) and I have some set aside for sorbets.

Good ideas for further uses of blackcurrants, please ? :D

I have both Queen and pie/jam quality ones left to use up, and they've all been picked clean of anything odd and stalks.

cheers,
M

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Maybe, maybe.... I'm a natural designated driver though; it wouldn't bother me if I never had another drink. Son2 likes good port though.
I'll find your thread and have a read :)

M

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
What to mix it with though ? I tried the blackcurrants on their own, and that's a no. It's really, really, not nice. I tried them with apples, and it's still a waste of good fruit.
I love pear leather though :) it's almost chewy toffee like in it's sweetness.

Thanks for the suggestions :)

cheers,
M

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
I have venison in the fridge for HWMBLT but even he couldn't manage all these blackcurrants with his dinner :) Usually he gets rowan jelly with venison though......I'll see what he thinks of blackcurrant :)

atb,
M

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
When our sons were growing up, I had two huge blackcurrant bushes, (down to one now), an apple tree, gooseberries, raspberries, rhubarb, strawberries and loganberries, and gathered brambles and rosehips from the woods too.
I made over 100 jars of jam a year, froze fruit and pie fillings, made syrups (no artificial food colourings or additives :) ) chutneys, pickles, and I dried fruits too.